Summer Fruit Trifle

Sour cherries are so inspiring y’all. I’ve had less time to cook lately than I’d like (and even less to write about cooking, as you can see), but these sour cherries at the farmer’s market wouldn’t take “no” for an answer. Also, my friend e nudged me to get back on here – thanks e 🙂

IMG_1564

I combined these with blueberries and nectarines for a simple fruit trifle layered with pound cake (gluten free!), vanilla pastry cream and maple whipped cream.

IMG_1544

I used the bob’s red mill recipe for gf pound cake and made a basic pastry cream, substituting the flour for cornstarch to keep that gf too.

Vanilla Pastry Cream

  • 1.5 cups half and half (I used half milk and half cream)
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 3 large eggs
  • 2 tablespoons corn starch
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla
  • pinch of salt

Bring half and half to simmer in a medium saucepan. Whisk sugar, eggs and starch in medium bowl to blend. Gradually whisk in hot half and half. Transfer to saucepan. Whisk over medium heat until mixture thickens and comes to a boil, about 5 minutes. Boil 1 minute. Pour into a heatproof bowl and cool in the fridge before layering with the fruit, pound cake and whipped cream.

(*Secret and confession: I actually put all the ingredients into my vitamix blender and set it to the hot soup setting. I then poured it into a saucepan and let it come to a simmer while I whisked – a lot less standing over the stove time)

Leave a Reply

