Chimichurri Sauce

Chimichurri sauce can get pretty personal. Each person has their own combination of spicy, sour, and herby that they prefer. I like a pretty tangy version, and I don’t discriminate on the herbs I use (as long as there is oregano in there somewhere).

Here is where I started, picking what looked good up on the roof garden:
Fresh herbs and tomatoes from the garden

I washed the herbs (basil, oregano, chives, parsley) and picked the leaves off the stems. The tomatoes don’t go in the chimichurri, but they’re great dipped into it afterwards!
Herbs in a blender

I added garlic, chili flakes, salt, a good glug of red wine vinegar, and some olive oil and set the blender to whir. It was a little too sour at first, so I added some more olive oil to temper the vinegar. Perfect!

Chimichurri sauce

This is great on meat or vegetarian proteins, scrambled eggs, roasted potatoes, bread, cheese, veggies, fingers…

Leave a Reply

