Albacore with tarragon aioli and purple potato-green bean salad

I love an excuse to make my own homemade mayo. I don’t do it that often, but, when I do, I think “why don’t I do this more often?” I guess it is a bit time consuming, but no more so than making your own salad dressing or a smoothie really.

I wanted to recreate this dish from back home (something that I think was called the “fisherman’s bake” from Mama’s Fish House). They didn’t use albacore, but it was basically a tarragon mayo broiled on top of a fillet. I made a basic mayo, which served double duty as the base for my mustardy potato salad, seared one side of the fish in a pan, then finished it off under the broiler to brown the aioli.

Albacore with tarragon aioli and purple potato-green bean salad

Basic Mayo
1 large egg yolk
2 teaspoons fresh lemon juice
1 teaspoon white wine vinegar
1 teaspoon Dijon mustard
1/2 teaspoon salt plus more to taste
3/4 light flavored oil (such as grapeseed, though I have used olive oil, but it imparts a stronger flavor)

I did this in my blender: blend the yolk to the salt until mixed well. With the blender running, add the oil very slowly, drop by drop at first and then in a slow stream.

For the fish, add cracked pepper and 2 tablespoons chopped tarragon to 1/2 cup mayo. For the potato salad, add red chili flakes, 2 tablespoons course grain mustard and a little more salt to the other 1/2 cup mayo. I used a mixture of purple and red potatoes, grilled green beans and chopped herbs. Salt and pepper to taste.

Albacore tuna with tarragon aioli and purple potato-green bean salad

Leave a Reply

