Grilled Salmon

I’ve always been nervous to grill fish without a grill basket or on a plank or something where I would not be responsible for trying to remove the fish in one piece without losing some down between the grates. I decided to get over that fear and go for it.

I started with some lovely salmon that we caught last fall out off the coast of Washington. The bright orange color was amazing. I cut the filet into fairly large portions so that they would not dry out on the grill and rubbed the flesh side with a lemon-garlic scape marinade. Right before grilling, I salted the skin side liberally and then rubbed with olive oil. I heated the grill on high for 15 minutes, rubbed the grates with a towel soaked in olive oil and placed the fish, skin side down, on the hot grill.

Then – I closed the grill and walked away and did not bother that fish for 10 minutes. OK, I did peek once. After 10 minutes, the very large and thick filets were still quite rare in the middle, so I left them for another few minutes. When I lifted them off the grill, they came up with ease, not sticking at all! The skin was crispy with beautiful grill marks. I tented the filets with foil, knowing that they would continue to cook as I prepped and plated other items.

Arugula Pesto

Lemon-Garlic Scape Marinade
– 3 long garlic scapes (the green flower and curly stem of a garlic plant, available in the spring at many farmer’s markets. They have a mild garlic flavor, like the green onion of the garlic world)
– juice of 2 lemons
– zest of 2 lemons
– handful of herbs (I used basil, chives and mint)
– 1/2 cup olive oil
– salt and pepper to taste

Blend all ingredients until smooth. Adjust seasoning to taste.

Leave a Reply

