Chicken Adobo

I had to search my email archives for this recipe, sent from a dear friend’s sister I believe, for chicken adobo. Adobo sometimes refers to a tomato-y sauce in Mexican cuisine, but here I am referring to the tangy braised chicken that is a classic in Filipino kitchens. The very basic recipe is to braise chicken in a mixture of equal parts soy sauce and apple cider vinegar, along with some bay leaves, garlic and peppercorns. I think I like mine a bit more vinegary than salty, and I also added a chopped onion. If you are feeling real fancy, brown the chicken first, like I did.

Chicken browning

Then add the liquid, cover and let simmer, turning the chicken pieces occasionally, for about 40 minutes until tender. Serve with some rice and a fresh green salad.

Chicken Adobo

Leave a Reply

