Gluten Free Fresh Flour Tortillas

I was having a cozy, lazy day with a friend recently who cannot have any gluten at all. I asked them what types of foods they really miss or just can’t find gf. They described this restaurant from their youth in Texas that had fresh-made flour tortillas and how they wished they could have that experience again, the soft floury-ness, the smell, the warmth against their skin. It was quite a description, and I immediately set out to recreate that in my kitchen.

Lucky for me, and my friend, there are so many folks avoiding gluten these days, and a good number of them with cooking blogs. I read through several recipes, pulling tips and ingredients, until I settled on my own method to try.

When the first one came off the griddle, my friend held it to their face and just sighed. We slathered on some orange-ancho-honey butter I had made, and I even made a cheddar quesadilla. Plain was probably the best though.

Gluten Free Flour Tortilla Quesadilla

1 3/4 cups all-purpose gluten-free flour, plus more for sprinkling (I used Bob’s)

1/4 cup tapioca flour

1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder

1 teaspoon kosher salt

5 tablespoons coconut oil (could use another vegetable shortening)

3/4 cup warm water

Mix the dry ingredients together in a medium bowl and then mix in the coconut oil, rubbing it into the flour with your fingertips until it’s evenly distributed (resembling the texture of corn meal). Add the warm water and mix into a thick dough. Press into a ball and cover with plastic wrap to rest for about 30 minutes. Heat a flat cast iron griddle or pan over medium heat and begin to roll out your tortillas. I made small ones, but it’s up to you. Pinch off a ball of dough, roll to smooth in your hands and then roll out with a rolling pin on a gf floured counter.

Lay the rolled tortilla on the griddle until dark spots begin to appear on the underside (about 45 seconds). Flip and continue to cook until spots appear on that side as well. If the first one tastes too “doughy,” try cooking the next one a bit longer. These are definitely best right off the griddle, but they reheat fine as well.

Leave a Reply

