Banana Bread Ice Cream

I realize that whatever ice cream you are eating in the moment has a certain advantage over all previous and future ice creams, but … I seriously made the best ice cream ever! I am calling it banana bread ice cream, though there is no bread involved (it’s gluten free), and it happened a little bit by accident.

Banana Bread Ice Cream

I was making this pie from Momofuku Milk Bar’s dessert chef Christina Tosi, and decided to make a double batch of the banana cream filling (because when is there ever too much banana cream filling?). The pie, for the record, was amazing. I tweaked the recipe, using agar instead of gelatin, leaving out the food coloring (who cares if the pie isn’t bright yellow?), taking down the amount of sugar a notch and adding a couple dashes of apple cider vinegar to balance the sweetness. The acid made the pie taste more “banana-y” to me. Since the recipe calls for completely ripe/black bananas, the tangy element of a medium ripe banana flavor was missing. I would have used lemon juice if I had any on hand, but the vinegar worked fine.

For the banana bread ice cream, I took 1 cup of chopped walnuts and tossed them with a tablespoon of water to moisten. I sprinkled them with two tablespoons of sugar, a teaspoon of cinnamon, a pinch of clove, and a pinch of sea salt. Ensuring that they were evenly coated, I then spread them on a parchment paper lined cookie sheet and baked at 350 for 10 minutes.

Meanwhile, I heated up 1/4 cup of dark rum on the stove and then added in 1/2 cup of raisins, letting them soak till plump.

I processed the previously made banana cream filling in my ice cream maker and then added in the walnuts and raisins during the last minute of mixing. I let it fully set overnight in the freezer, and it is truly amazing. The mouthfeel is superb, probably as a result of combining thickening and lightening techniques in the making of the cream filling (eggs and agar to thicken, whipped cream to lighten). The raisins are chewy and sweet, while the walnuts are crispy with a little sea salt here and there. I am desperate to try it in a waffle cone. Let me know what you think!

2 thoughts on “Banana Bread Ice Cream

  1. Sounds so yummy! Can you make me some with coconut milk ? Since avoided dairy, I do miss ice cream.

Leave a Reply

