Curried Yogurt Dip with Chia Seeds and Pickled Beet Relish

My cooking adventures are often inspired by others’ recipes or dishes I’ve eaten out and about. This recipe comes purely from my own head and the ingredients (or lack thereof) in my fridge. I had a party to attend and needed an hors d’oeuvres to bring. I wanted to make a dip, but had just about ¼ cup of greek yogurt left. I knew I could thin it with milk to make a softer texture, but I added too much milk and ended up with more of the texture of a lassi. I had used chia seeds to make sweet pudding in the past, and I thought why not thicken this dip with chia seeds? It worked, and it was really really good.

beet_yogurt_dip

– ½ cup plain greek yogurt
– ½ cup milk
– 1/3 cup chia seeds
– 1 teaspoon curry powder
– 1 teaspoon brown mustard seeds
– 1 tablespoon lemon juice
– Salt and pepper to taste
Pickled beets, shredded

Whisk yogurt and milk together until it is uniform in texture. Add the chia, curry, mustard, and lemon and mix well. Add salt and pepper to taste. Serve in a pretty bowl with the pickled beets mounded in the middle. As people drag their chip or crudité through the dip, pretty pink swirls will form across the white yogurt. This was lovely with carrot, celery and cucumber slices, but extra good with kettle potato chips (shocking I know).

Leave a Reply

