CSA Returns, along with my will to blog

With my last blog post staring me in the face from (gasp) Thanksgiving (wtf!), I am trying to think of all kinds of excuses as to why I haven’t blogged – I had the flu for 2 months (true), I haven’t made anything blog-worthy in a while (not true)…..but, I think the best thing to do is to move forward. With our CSA farm share from Dragonfly Farms started back up, I am soooo in the mood to cook, and it feels good!
This week, we got a great big box of goodies, including spinach, butter and romaine lettuces, gorgeous asparagus, shell peas, mint, tomatoes, spring onions, and glorious glorious rhubarb.
I made a yogurt-spring onion dressing for the lettuce, marinated the tomatoes in garlic, sherry vinegar and basil, and turned the rhubarb into a custard-based ice cream along with some raspberries (to be joined later by pistachio merengue cookies in some epic ice cream sandwiches).
The crowning moment came tonight for dinner with possibly the best pizza I have ever made (and possibly tasted). It was not a traditional pizza by any means, so pizza purists, please do not take offense.
I topped a basic pizza dough with shredded manchego and some shrimp marinated in chopped, pickled jalapenos and baked it at 500 for 10 minutes. With the cheese browning and the shrimp cooked, I added a layer of asparagus-spinach-mint-ricotta “pesto,” some raw asparagus tips and a sprinkling of grana padano. Another 10 minutes in the hot oven, an impatient 5 minutes waiting for it to cool enough to properly slice it, and we were sitting down to what I guess I’d call deep dish spring vegetable pizza with shrimp. I will make my guess at the “pesto” recipe below, as I sort of made it up as I went along.

Spring Vegetable Deep Dish Pizza with Shrimp

Asparagus, spinach, pea “pesto” with ricotta
Course chop 1 bunch spring onions and saute on high heat in 1 tablespoon olive oil for about 3 minutes. Add 3 cloves minced garlic and stir. Add in several handfuls of spinach and stir till wilted. Chop 1 bunch asparagus, reserving tips, and add to the mix, cooking about 3 minutes. Add in about 1/2 cup shelled peas and cook another minute. Season with salt and pepper.
Puree the mixture in a food processor until roughly chopped. Add in 1/2 cup grated parmesan, 2 tablespoons chopped fresh mint, and 1 cup ricotta. Pulse to blend. Season to taste with salt and pepper.
This “pesto” would be great on crostini or with veggies as a dip. As I mentioned, it was epic as a pizza topping. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

