Spicy Roasted Carrots (I promise they’re not boring!)

As usual, the 25lbs of carrots in my fridge are pushing my creative limits. I saw a recipe for cinnamon roasted carrots which inspired me to make the following recipe. I wanted something slightly spicy, so I used garam masala, a little lemon juice, and a sprinkle of olive oil, along with salt and pepper.

First, I peeled the carrots and sliced them on the diagonal into 2″ pieces (ok, some transparency here, really my partner did that part). Then I tossed them in a glass baking dish with the above spices and put them in a 450 degree oven on the top rack.

After 20 minutes, they were neither brown nor tender, and I was impatient, so I turned the broiler on high and vowed to keep a close eye on them. This was the first time that accidentally burning something under the broiler turned out to be a good thing! If I had been watching more closely (I did have a timer on, but overestimated the amount of time needed – 5 minutes), I would never have allowed them to get so dark (even black in places). The burnt ones were the best! Because the total cooking time was still not long, the carrots stayed nice and crisp, with a lovely caramelized sweetness and a lingering heat from the spices. I ended up eating my share straight from the pan as soon as they were cool enough, but they were just as good the next day – cold with a side of 5-bean salad!

Leave a Reply

