It’s Chilly Out There! (and in here)

My friend Danielle reminded me that it is high time for some soup/stew/warm-bowl-of-something. Of course, this means (among other things) chili.

I went for a pretty basic version this time, wish I had more veggies to add in, but I went with what I had.

– 2 large onions, chopped
– 6 (or more) cloves of garlic, minced
– 1 tablespoon chili powder
– 1 tablespoon cumin
– cayenne (to taste)
salt, pepper
– 1 package ground turkey/crumbled tofu/other meaty type product (or not)
– 4 cups cooked beans (I used garbanzos, black and kidney beans)
– 4 cups diced tomatoes
– 4 cups veggies, chopped (I used green beans, but would have liked to have added carrots, corn, squash, greens)
– chopped jalapenos, to taste

Brown the onions and garlic in a little olive oil, using your largest pot. Add the spices and saute for a minute longer. Brown the ground meat/tofu/TVP etc. and then add all other ingredients except the veggies. I add those at the end so that they retain some texture.

Let simmer for as long as you can wait (at least 1/2 hour to let flavors blend). Add the veggies and simmer until crisp-tender. Taste and adjust for spicy-ness, salt, etc.

This chili is good all on its own, but even better over cornbread, as filling for tacos/burritos, or on top of a pile of lettuce for a taco salad type dish.

Leave a Reply

