No Blog for the Weary

Whew, what a whirlwind of a week. A couple of late nights, a hectic round of grocery shopping, and an attempt to get the house together for our housewarming shindig on Saturday has left me little time to blog about that many kitchen exploits I’ve had of late.

First, I started in on the Thai curry pumpkin soup with coconut milk, sautéing onion, garlic, ginger, lemongrass and red curry paste together and adding water. Once the carrots were soft, I transferred the mixture to the blender. The bottom to the blender, as it happens, was on crooked, so spicy curry broth started to leak out. I dumped it back in the pot and remedied the problem, blending the mixture to a smooth consistency. Reaching for a can opener in my top drawer, I realized that the spicy broth had leaked into the drawer! Clearing out the kitchen utensils and wiping up the mess, I saw a trail leaking down the floor….the broth had leaked into every drawer!

Ok, back to business. I added the pumpkin puree and 2 cans of coconut milk, along with some lemon juice and a touch of sugar. It turned out pretty spicy, but when I warm it up in the crock-pot on Saturday, I can always add more pumpkin or coconut milk to tone it down. According to my partner, it’s “amazing,” and I’d have to agree.

Last night, I started on the apple spice bread pudding, making the custard, soaking the bread, roasting the apples, and leaving the raisins in some port to plump up. Tonight, I’ll layer the bread, apples, raisins and walnuts in a casserole so it’s ready to pop in the oven on Saturday. I already have the caramel sauce made, and after tasting it, I can tell you that it will not matter what the bread pudding tastes like at all….anything would taste good with this caramel sauce on it. I also made up a batch of chocolate-espresso custard for another bread pudding, which I’ll layer with chunks of chocolate.

Leave a Reply

