Need to Knead

I’ve been hearing about this no-need-to-knead bread technique for a while now. My co-worker swears by it (and I’ve tasted her amazing bread), so when I saw an article – and recipe – in a cooking magazine, I figured I’d try it out.

You basically put 3 cups of flour, 1/4 teaspoon salt, 1/4 teaspoon yeast and 1.5 cups warm water in a bowl and let it sit for a while (overnight, 24 hours, longer?). Some recipes I’ve seen ask you to transfer the “dough” to a new, oiled bowl and let it rise in there.

The premise is that the yeast does all the work for you. After a day or so, tip the dough out onto a well floured work surface, fold over a few times, mold into a ball/loaf, and put in a pan to rise again for an hour or so. The recipe in the magazine had you bake it in a dutch oven with a lid (recommending a glass or enamel type). The lid on for 25 minutes and then off for 25 or so, till brown.  I also saw another recipe that just had you push it out onto a cookie sheet for more of a focaccia type bread.

I haven’t baked it yet, so I’ll let you know how it turns out. This could be the answer to all life’s problems, or at least the answer to my broken bread machine….

2 thoughts on “Need to Knead

  1. I first heard about this method in summer 08 from this site that I follow: http://www.leftoverqueen.com/2008/07/01/speaking-of-baked-goodsbread-rant

    For Christmas last year, Ian bought a copy for Nikki. Nikki has made the bread. I can attest that it is delicious, though it doesn’t require bowl transfer. Same basic recipe, stir with a wooden spoon, let sit for 2 hours, transfer to fridge, makes three loaves. There are more details than that, and I can go into greater detail if you prefer.

    Otherwise, this is generally a pretty fantastic book.

  2. heck, even *I’ve* made the bread, and I’m terrified of baking. So that says something, for sure (I think).

Leave a Reply

