Sunday means brunch: grits and mushroom gravy

In my house, Sunday means brunch – some kind of elaborate, or at least indulgent, meal served anywhere between 11am and 3pm – though, the rules are not strict.

My out of town guest (love you e!) this weekend is vegetarian, so meat products were out as brunch options. My partner and I joined forces: he makes the best cheesey grits ever, so of course, he handled that department. Using a mixture of cheddar, laughing cow (the only processed cheese you’ll ever find in my house), and romano, plus a little frank’s red hot.

I made a mushroom gravy to go on top using a dried mushroom mix, chopped onions, garlic, thyme, sage, red pepper flakes, the broth from the reconstituted mushrooms and some milk. We sooo should have made biscuits, but it was great with the grits.

I made eggs to order and cut up some fresh pineapple. Stuffed as we all were, we still found room for “dessert” in the form of leftover chocolate-ginger scones that I had made the day before.

The best part is, lunch tomorrow will be grits and gravy – sweet.

Leave a Reply

