Turkey Meatballs

I am sure some of my Italian relatives would roll in their graves over this one, but I made turkey meatballs for dinner last night. Traditionally, “real” meat would be used – some combination of pork, veal, beef…..but, I had ground turkey in the fridge, and it’s healthier.

It was white meat, so I knew I had to add something to keep it moist and I had to add a lot of flavor to compensate for the lack of fat. I started by chopping up an onion and a carrot in the food processor to a mince. I started that mixture sautéing in a skillet over high heat to caramelize. I added 3-4 cloves of minced garlic, salt, pepper, thyme, oregano, sage, red pepper flakes and basil. After about 10 minutes, I dumped that into a big bowl to cool. I stuck ¼ of a baguette into the food processor to make bread crumbs and then poured some milk over them to moisten.

I added the breadcrumbs, 2 packs of ground turkey, 2 eggs and some salt to the bowl with the veggies in it. I decided I still needed more flavor, so I added ½ cup of grated romano cheese – this would be the fat that I needed.

Rolling into small balls (I had a dinner guest coming in an hour, so they needed to cook fast!), I fried them in a non-stick pan over high heat for about 5 minutes per side. I was not worried about keeping them in a ball shape, though they did ok. As each batch browned, I then put them on a cookie sheet in a 400 degree oven until the rest were browned. Once they were all cooked through in the oven, I dumped them into a simmering pot of red sauce. There were A LOT of meatballs, clearly I only needed one pack of turkey, but now I can freeze some.

I must say, they were amazing. They in no way tasted “healthier” or less indulgent than regular meatballs, so I am pretty much a convert. My 2 guests also agreed : )

One thought on “Turkey Meatballs

  1. Your mom told me about the blog. I’m enjoying it.

    Your mom fixed what might have been this recipe to bring over for dinner Thursday night. It was “really” good. This was great not only because your mom is such a great person. But I was a little down because Ellen’s mom had passed away that day. Your mom’s company and the great food helped a lot. Besides, it was my birthday. This proved to be exactly what I needed.

    We had garlic bread and steamed broccoli. I pulled out a bottle of Earth Zin & Fire, a Zinfandel from the Jessie’s Grove Winery in Lodi, Cal.

    Oh yeah, the Ben & Jerry’s ice cream afterward was “so” good.

    Needless to say, everything was great. The wine is even better than I remember. I had been on the wagon for almost a year after the kidney transplant. Oh yeah, I had to lay off the chocolate then too.

    Good friends. Good food. Comfort. Life is good! Live it.

Leave a Reply

