Quinoa Salad with Roasted Asparagus

Last night I made a quinoa salad so that my partner and I would have a healthy lunch to pack for today.

This “recipe” is a classic for me: take a look in the fridge/cupboard and figure out what I can throw together to make something that looks like a meal.

So, I started out by toasting a few cups of quinoa (a super yummy grain with the texture of couscous, but with more nutrients than most grains) – in a dry pan until it began to give off a “toasty” aroma (watch for color change too, just a light golden color).

I covered the grain with about an inch of filtered water, a teaspoon of salt, and set it to come to a boil. In the mean time, my sweetie washed the asparagus. I snapped off the tough ends and threw them in with the quinoa to flavor the water. Once it came to a boil, I turned the heat to low, covered the pot and let it simmer for about 15 minutes – quinoa cooks super fast – it might have been less time than that.

I chopped the rest of the asparagus into 2-inch pieces and tossed it together with ½ a chopped sweet onion, some olive oil and salt. I spread these on a cookie sheet (lined with a silpat of course) and broiled in the oven for about 10 minutes, until browning around the edges.

After fishing out the tough stems from the cooked quinoa, I tossed that with the roasted veggies, a can of drained, 3 grated carrots, diced tomatoes, ½ cup crumbled feta, some white wine vinegar, Dijon mustard, honey, thyme, oregano, salt, pepper, and dash of garam masala. Thinking back, I should have added some chopped basil from our windowsill, but I didn’t think of that.

It was pretty good, and I am excited to eat lunch today, though next time I’ll add less vinegar or sub in some lemon juice instead.

Leave a Reply

